Toka Tū Ake EQC/NZSEE Ivan Skinner Award

The Toka Tū Ake EQC/NZSEE Ivan Skinner Award aims to advance the common interest of Toka Tū Ake EQC and the New Zealand Society for Earthquake Engineering Incorporated (NZSEE) in promoting advancements in the research and/or practice of earthquake engineering and/or earthquake resilience, which reduces the impacts of earthquakes on New Zealand communities.

The Toka Tū Ake EQC/NZSEE Ivan Skinner Award includes a prize of $10,000.

Selection criteria

Applicants ideally:

  • Are a New Zealand-based practitioner or researcher that contributes to improving the research and/or practice of earthquake engineering and/or earthquake resilience, to reduce the impacts of earthquakes on New Zealand communities; and
  • Have already demonstrated high promise with early achievements that foster the seismic resilience of structures and/or infrastructure; and
  • Are employed in a role in which earthquake-engineering and/or earthquake resilience research and/or practice is relevant and undertaken.
  • Priority will be given to outcomes that have been applied in practice to reduce the impacts of earthquakes on New Zealand communities,

Applicants must have not had not more than 15 years of experience (since award of their first relevant undergraduate degree) as a practitioner and/or postgraduate researcher to be eligible for this award.  This eligibility criteria can be extended to account for applicants who have had breaks from employment, such as for parental leave or for serious illness/injury.  If this extended eligibility period is used, then the application should include a statement outlining the periods where there has been a break in employment, and a description of the reason for this break.

Applicants are not required to be members of NZSEE, but this is desirable.

Preference is likely to be given to individuals who are at a stage in their careers at which the award can make an important contribution to their further progress and/or who have a commitment to make further advances in earthquake engineering and/or earthquake resilience research or practice. In addition, pioneering or innovative research or practice that can, or has, be developed into real world solutions will be given favourable consideration, as will individuals with unusual combinations of knowledge and skills that can enhance earthquake engineering and/or earthquake resilience practice.

While it is expected that applicants will have contributed to the advancement of research or practice of earthquake engineering and/or earthquake resilience, applicants from disciplines other than engineering are eligible for this award and are encouraged to apply.

It is not expected that the Award be used solely for, or to complete, a specific project or research task. The Award should be used towards, or in connection with, the advancement of earthquake engineering and/or earthquake resilience research or practice. For example, the Award may be used by the recipient to:

  1. initiate a period of independent research, or another form of professional development; and/or
  2. further develop systems or techniques that can be converted into practice; and/or
  3. participate in international study groups, conferences, or professional development; and/or
  4. to publish completed work to an audience of peers.

The Toka Tū Ake EQC/NZSEE Ivan Skinner Award has a value of $10,000. If multiple awards are given in any year, the prize value may be split evenly amongst the winners.

No separate application form is required.


Applicants should provide the following information briefly but clearly:


·       A brief relevant curriculum vitae (max of two pages).

·  A brief statement which explains why the applicant believes they would be a suitable candidate for this award, having regard to the criteria set out above (up to one page, 12 pt, minimum, single spaced). 

·    References and abstracts for relevant publications/presentations by the applicant or other relevant projects or activities. 

·       The applicant should arrange for a relevant expert/mentor to independently email a letter of support to the NZSEE Executive Officer at by the award submission deadline.

·   The names and contact details of two additional referees prepared to comment on the application, that can be contacted by the awards committee. 

·  A brief outline of the research, project, professional practice, or activity that will be enabled/facilitated by the award, giving the objectives, procedures and intended outcomes (up to one page)


A brief work plan indicating the start and finish dates of the proposed activity that will be supported by this award, and the current status if the proposed activity is a continuation of ongoing work (up to one page). Additional materials beyond the requirements above need not be submitted and will not be reviewed.


The selection committee representing NZSEE and Toka Tū Ake EQC shall select which applicant, if any, is to be conferred the award in any given year. The selection committee may contact the applicant and/or the referees provided by the applicant for further information.  The decision of the selection committee will be final and no correspondence will be entered into.


The recipient must agree to provide Toka Tū Ake EQC and NZSEE with a short report as soon as practicable following completion of the relevant activity for which the award was applied (and in any event no later than two years after the Award is made) which described how the recipient used the Award. The report is to be in a form suitable for publication in the NZSEE Bulletin, for distribution by Toka Tū Ake EQC, and for presentation to the Commission’s Board.

The award will be presented at the NZSEE Annual Technical Conference.


Previous winners of this award are ineligible to reapply. 

Closing Date and Presentation

Applications for 2024 are now open. Applications close Friday 8th March 5pm

Past Recipients

2023 Lucas Hogan
2022Dr Shahab Ramhormozian
2021Dr Ashkan Hashemi
2020Dr Najif Ismail
2019Dr Kaley Crawford – Flett
2018Dr Richard Henry / Dr Tim Sullivan
2017Dr Dmytro Dizhur
2016No award given
2015Dr Liam Wotherspoon
2014Dr Geoffrey Rodgers
2013Dr Alessandro Palermo
2012Dr Brendon Bradley
2010Dr Quincy Ma
2008Assoc. Prof. Misko Cubrinovski
2007Assoc. Prof. Rajesh Dhakal
2006Assoc. Prof. Stefano Pampanin